Children’s Poetry Books, Copperfield’s Recommendations

In celebration of National Poetry Month, below are some recommendations from our own Copperfield’s Books in Sonoma County.
National Poetry Month, which takes place each April, is a celebration of poetry. It was originally organized by the Academy of American Poets as a way to increase awareness and appreciation of poetry in the United States.

A Poem in Your Pocket (Mr. Tiffin’s Classroom Series) by Margaret McNamara, G. Brian Karas (Illustrated by)
Usher in National Poetry Month with Mr. Tiffin and his students, stars of the hugely popular How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin? and The Apple Orchard Riddle. (Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3)
$16.99

Hypnotize a Tiger: Poems About Just About Everything
by Calef Brown, Calef Brown (Illustrated by)
This is the first longer-format, middle-grade poetry collection from #1 New York Times–bestselling author-illustrator Calef Brown. Moving away from the picture book format offers Calef the opportunity to tackle a variety of themes and poetry styles as well as reach a slightly older audience along the lines of Doug Florian and Shel Silverstein. (Ages 8 to 12)
$17.99

The Popcorn Astronauts: And Other Biteable Rhymes by Deborah Ruddell, Joan Rankin (Illustrated by)
Dive into a watermelon lake and sing the praises of mac and cheese in this playful and poetic celebration of food. In spring, bow to the “Strawberry Queen” and eat “Only Guacamole.” In summer you’ll meet Bob the Ogre, who only eats corn on the cob, and in fall, you can learn “21 Things to Do with an Apple.” And then in winter, retreat from the cold at “The Cocoa Cabana!” (Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3)
$17.99

Beastly Verse by JooHee Yoon (Illustrated by)
Poetry and children belong together, and for a long time, the music and playfulness of verse wove itself through children’s days and lives. Beastly Verse aims to help return the wonder of poetry to children’s lives through sixteen exquisitely illustrated poems, four of which have the surprise and pleasure of being foldouts. (Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3)
$18.95

Should You Be a River: A Poem About Love by Ed Young
A personally-inspired celebration of unconditional love in the vein of Guess How Much I Love You and The Runaway Bunny from a Caldecott Medal-winning artist. (Ages 3 And Up, Grades P to 17)
$18

Enormous Smallness: A Story of E. E. Cummings by Matthew Burgess, Kris Di Giacomo (Illustrated by)
Enormous Smallness is a nonfiction picture book about the poet E.E. cummings. Here E.E.’s life is presented in a way that will make children curious about him and will lead them to play with words and ask plenty of questions as well. Lively and informative, the book also presents some of Cummings’s most wonderful poems, integrating them seamlessly into the story to give the reader the music of his voice and a spirited, sensitive introduction to his poetry. (Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3)
$17.95

 

Falling Up Special Edition: With 12 New Poems by Shel Silverstein, Shel Silverstein (Illustrated by)
Let the magic of Shel Silverstein open your eyes and tickle your mind! This special edition of the timeless bestselling poetry book Falling Up features twelve never-before-published poems by Shel Silverstein. (Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3)
$19.99

The Death of the Hat: A Brief History of Poetry in 50 Objects by Paul B. Janeczko, Chris Raschka (Illustrated by)
A celebrated duo reunites for a look at poems through history inspired by objects—earthly and celestial—reflecting the time in which each poet lived. The Death of the Hat is another terrific poetry anthology from the creators of A Poke in the I, A Kick in the Head, and A Foot in the Mouth. (Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7)
$17.99

All of these books are available at any Copperfield’s Books.

Copperfield’s Books is located at Petaluma, Santa Rosa, Sebastopol, and Healdsburg. For more information visit their website at https://sonomacountykids.comwww.copperfieldsbooks.com/.

Comments

Add a comment

mood_bad
  • No comments yet.
  • chat
    Add a comment